

Joint House/Senate Subcommittee on Claims

♦ 72 State Office Building ♦ St. Paul, MN 55155 ♦ (651) 296-0099 ♦ Fax: (651) 297-3697

MINUTES

March 26, 2019

<u>In Attendance</u> Sen. Bruce Anderson, Co-chair Rep. Mary Murphy, Co-chair Sen. Jim Carlson Rep. Duane Quam Sen. Jerry Relph Rep. Duane Sauke

Chair Anderson called the meeting of the Joint House/Senate Subcommittee on Claims to order at 7:12 p.m. in room G23 of the State Capitol. A quorum was present.

Jason Kuenle, Assistant Revisor of Statutes, served as Counsel to the subcommittee.

Rep. Murphy moved to approve the minutes from March 27, 2018.

Motion prevailed.

Jason Kuenle, Counsel, provided a summary of claims to dismiss or hold over for procedural reasons:

Mr & Mrs Tim DeWuske - dismissal for lack of jurisdiction (Metropolitan Council) Wright & Becker County claim – hold over Mr Matt Hilgart testified from the Association of Minnesota Counties Ronell James, (property) (Rep. Quam moved to deny) and Richard O'Reilly (injury) (Sen. Relph moved to hold over) ~ Department of Corrections Thirteen claims from Mille Lacs businesses: Agate Bay Resort – Tina Chapman Appledoorn's on Mille Lacs – Paul Waldowski Chapman's Mille Lacs Resort – Tina Chapman Fishermen's Wharf Resort, Inc. - Daron Stenvold Hunter Winfields Inc. - Marjorie & Michael Christensen Mac's Twin Bay Resort - Tina Chapman McQuoid's Inn – Terry McQuoid Nitti's Hunters Point Resort – Justin Baldwin Red Door Resort & Motel – Stephen Kulifaj Rocky Reef Resort – John Odle Snacks on Mille Lacs & Beckham's Bar & Bistro -Robert Koelfgen Terry's Boat Harbor Marina – Terry Thurmer Twin Pines Resort - Bill & Linda Eno - hold over ~ Department of Natural Resources

Claim being heard against the **Department of Natural Resources** regarding Mille Lacs walleye fishing restrictions:

• Steve Fellegy

Mr. Fellegy testified.

Bob Meier, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Natural Resources testified on behalf of the DNR.

Rep. Quam moved to table the Fellegy claim along with the other Mille Lacs claims until a future hearing. Motion prevailed.

Claims being heard against the **Department of Human Services**:

Stephen Stecyk testified on behalf of the DHS for the following claims:

Jamison, Shawn, MSOP – Property claim

Rep. Murphy moved to deny the claim.

Zimmer, Beau-Jacob Edward, St Peter – Property claim

Rep. Quam moved to deny the claim.

Medical reimbursement to the **Department of Corrections** for injury claims under \$7,000 presented by Jean M. Whitney, Associate General Counsel, DOC.

Medical Claims (7) = Total of \$5,889.70

Rep. Sauke moved to approve payment of \$5,889.70 to DOC for the reimbursement of medical payments. Motion prevailed.

Claims being heard against the **Department of Corrections** were presented by Jason Kuenle. Jean M. Whitney, Associate General Counsel, DOC testified.

Injury Claims

Sen. Relph moved to hold over: Richard O'Reilly injury claim. Motion prevailed. Sen. Sauke moved to pay:

Ricky Ritchie \$1,875.00 for his permanent partial disability (injury) claim. Motion prevailed.

Rep. Quam moved to deny:

Edward Clark injury claim Timothy Glewwe injury claim Paul Gordon injury claim Joshua Henry injury claim Enrico Taylor injury claim David Vance-Bryan injury claim, and Jesse Wolbeck injury claim

Motion prevailed.

Property Claims

Jason Kuenle summarized DOC property claims. Jean M. Whitney, Associate General Counsel, DOC testified.

Rep. Murphy moved to deny:

Manuel Guzman property claim (2017) 17-PR-Guzman-RC

Motion prevailed.

Sen. Anderson moved to deny:

William Leanyear's two claims 18-PR-Leanyear-RC & 18-PR-Leanyear-2-RC

Motion prevailed.

Sen. Relph moved to re-offer a settlement if \$20.00 to

Motion prevailed.

Motion prevailed.

Aleem Waheed 18-PR-Waheed-ML

Motion prevailed.

Rep. Quam moved to deny all remaining claims:

p.	p. Quam moved to deny all remaining claims:		
	Ayala-Enriqez, Guillermo	18-PR-Ayala-Enriquez-RC	
	Banks, Christopher	18-PR-Banks-FRB	
	Battle-Bey, Darwin	18-PR-Battle-STW	
	Bell, Brandon	17-PR-Bell-LL	
	Bishop, Reggie	18-PR-Bishop-RC	
	Brown, Dejavareah	18-PR-Brown-FRB	
	Brun, Travis	18-PR-Brun-STW	
	Cabrera, Christopher	18-PR-Cabrera-RC	
	Clark, Courtney	18-PR-Clark2-ML	
	Clemons, Semaji	18-PR-Clemons-STW	
	Conley, Teron	18-PR-Conley-RC	
	Cronquist, Tyler	18-PR-Cronquist-RC	
	Dozier, Quario	18-PR-Dozier-RC	
	Jerry Duwenhoegger	18-PR-Duwenhoegger-STW	
	Mitchell Ellis	18-PR-Ellis-STW	
	Cody Elven	18-PR-Elven-STW	
	Leo Garza	18-PR-Garza-STW	
	Dylan Gilbertson	18-PR-Gilbertson-RC	
	Leonard Goodloe	18-PR-Goodloe-STW	
	Devon Green	18-PR-Green-STW	
	Dustin Hallauer	18-PR-Hallauer-RC	
	Eric Henderson-Bey	18-PR-Henderson-Bey-STW	
	Isaac Henderson	18-PR-Henderson-FRB	
	Harvey Henry	18-PR-Henry-STW	
	Brian Hickson	18-PR-Hickson-ML	
	Purvis Hollie	18-PR-Hollie-STW	
	James Howard	18-PR-Howard-RC	
	Ronell James	18-PR-James-STW	
	Jeremy Jones	18-PR-Jones-STW	
	John Jones	18-PR-Jones-FRB	
	Jay Kaufman	18-PR-Kaufman-STW	
	Derrick Kohene	18-PR-Kohene-STW	
	Jason Lott	18-PR-Lott-RC	
	Jason Lowry	18-PR-Lowry-ML	
	Darnell McDaniels	18-PR-McDaniels-FRB	
	Daniel McMaster	18-PR-McMaster-STW	
	Cory Melde	18-PR-Melde-FRB	
	Justin Mitchell	18-PR-Mitchell-FRB	
	Joel Munt	18-PR-Munt-STW	
	Bernard Neal	18-PR-Neal-RC	
	Taylor Pass	18-PR-Pass-FRB	
	Abel Rocha	18-PR-Rocha-RC	
	Simon Rogers	18-PR-Rogers-STW	
	Dallas Sam	18-PR-Sam-RC	
	Joshua Smithers	18-PR-Smithers-RC	

Joshua Staples Fitzgerald Stewart Boe Tankersley Robert Taylor Michael Tholkes DeSean Thomas Jeremy Ullrich Abdulsalam Usee Kenneth Wallace Quentheus Watkins Delaquay Williams 18-PR-Staples-FRB 18-PR-Stewart-RC 18-PR-Tankersley-FRB 18-PR-Taylor-RC 18-PR-Tholkes-LL 18-PR-Thomas-RC 18-PR-Ullrich-ML 18-PR-Usee-STW 18-PR-Wallace-FRB 18-PR-Watkins-STW 18-PR-Williams-RC

Motion prevailed.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:56 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Senator Bruce Anderson Senate Co-chair

mary musphy

Representative Mary Murphy House Co-chair